Hengqin cooperation zone administrative committee members unveiled

Chief Executive, Ho Iat Seng, will hold a Director position in the future administrative body for the Guangdong-Macao Intensive Cooperation Zone in Hengqin, with Secretary for Economy and Finance Lei Wai Nong to head its executive committee, the area’s newly launched website reveals.

“The Cooperation Zone’s tiered management mechanism will be the foundation for a special regulatory and development system to promote innovative management and efficient flows of various resources,” Chief Executive Ho Iat Seng stated at the inauguration ceremony for the new cooperation zone.

“This is an impetus for the long-term development of Macao, a new space and opportunity created to improve the livelihood of the general population of Macao that will be beneficial to the long-term stability and prosperity of the Macau SAR and its integration to the country’s development paradigm”

The Master Plan of the Development of the Guangdong-Macao Intensive Cooperation Zone in Hengqin was published by the Central Government on September 5, with the member of its administration and executive committees revealed today (Friday).

According to the Master Plan, Guangdong and Macau will jointly form an administrative committee, as a development and management body to coordinate and make decisions on major issues for the Cooperation Zone.

The administrative committee is under the leadership of the Leading Group for the Development of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-​Macao Greater Bay Area and will be run under a dual-director system, meaning it will be jointly led by the Governor of Guangdong Province, Ma Xingrui, and the Macau SAR CE.

 The administrative committee will have an executive vice-chairperson from Macau, appointed by the MSAR Government; other vice-chairpersons will be appointed after discussions between Guangdong and Macau.

It will also include representatives from departments of the Guangdong Government, the MSAR Government and the Zhuhai Government.

Today it was also revealed that Secretary for Administration and Justice Andre Cheong Weng Chon, has been appointed as the administrative committee Executive Deputy Director.

One ring below, Secretary for Security Wong Sio Chak and Secretary for Social Affairs and Culture Elsie Ao Ieong U will serve a Deputy Directors, together with Guangdong Vice Governors, Lin Keqing and Zhang Xin, and Secretary of the CPC Zhuhai Municipal Committee, Guo Yonghang.

The Director of the Hengqin Office of the Guangdong Provincial People’s Government, deputy director of the Executive Committee of the Guangdong-Macao In-Depth Cooperation Zone in Hengqin, Nie Xinping, will also act as Secretary-General together with Secretary Lei Wai Nong.

Meanwhile, the Executive Committee will be a statutory body that undertakes the economic and livelihood management functions of the In-Depth Cooperation Zone, will replace the previous Zhuhai Hengqin New Area Management Committee.

It includes nine bureaus: the Administrative Affairs Bureau, Legal Affairs Bureau, Economic Development Bureau, Financial Development Bureau, Commercial Services Bureau, Finance Bureau, Statistics Bureau, Urban Planning & Construction Bureau and Livelihood Affairs Bureau.

The person-in-charge of the executive committee was be appointed by the MSAR Government. Guangdong Province and Zhuhai Municipality will appoint representatives to join the committee.

Under Secretary Lei, the Executive Committee will have Nie Xinping, Fu Yongge, Niu Jing, Hoi Lai Fong, Su Kun, Ng Chi Kin.

Through the Guangdong-Macao In-depth Cooperation Zone in Hengqin, the development of the following industries will be promoted: scientific and technological research and high-end manufacturing industries, Macao branded industries such as traditional Chinese medicine, cultural tourism, convention and exhibition, and commercial and trade industries, and modern financial industry.

“Major industrial projects will be mapped out to facilitate the formation of innovative and technological platforms. New technologies, new industries, new ecologies, new models will be developed in order to create impetus for the sustainable development of Macao’s economic diversification,” the Macau CE stated today.

Vice-Premier Han Zheng, Secretary Li Xi, Vice Chairman Edmund Ho Hau Wah, Vice Chairman Xia Baolong, and Governor Ma Xingrui also attended the ceremony today in Hengqin.

he ceremony