Macau drivers to follow during the 67th Grand Prix

The 67th Macau Grand Prix has already launched, with a shorter but still exciting three-day schedule, comprising mainly of drivers from Greater China and plenty of Macau talent spread out in the competitions five main races.

Formula 4 Macau Grand Prix

The Formula 4 Macau Grand Prix – replacing the usual FIA F3 headliner competition this year – will be one of the most anticipated contests, with local competitors Charles Leong Hon Chio and Andy Chang Wing Chung, having real chances to reach the top podium position in home soil.

Leong was the 2017 Asian Formula Renault champion and contested the Formula 3 Macau Grand Prix in 2018 and 2019 while Chang was three times a contestant in the Formula 3 Macau Grand Prix between 2014 and 2016.

The F4 competition will include 17 single-seater drivers, most of who have been contesting a F4 Chinese Championship limited to two rounds of four races each at the nearby Zhuhai International Circuit, of which Leong won three, with Chang getting one victory.

Macau GT Cup

In terms of local talent, the Macau GT Cup will include five locals, all looking to follow Raffaelle Marciello at the glamorous race, but in a competition where all five will be racing for the first time.

The lucky five will include Alex Liu Lic Ka at Mercedes-AMG GT3, Billy Lo with an Audi R8 LMS GT3, Leong Iok Choi with a solo McLaren entry with a 570S GT4, Lai Chi Hou with a BMW M4 GT4 and Lio Kin Chong at the wheel of a Lotus Exige S.

Macau Guia Race 

Due to the pandemic disruption, this year’s Guia race will not count for the FIA WTCR but instead will serve as the final round of the 2020 TCR China Touring Car Championship, with a crowded field of 35 drivers.

In a race where British driver Rob Huff will look to achieve to extend its staggering record to a 10th win, seven Macau drivers will attempt to delay that feat, with Huff’s teammate, local driver Rodolfo Avila, aiming for a decisive win in a competition currently headed by Chinese driver Ma Qing Hua, ahead by eight points.

Other drivers include plenty of veterans of the Guia Circuit, including Filipe de Souza, this year with T.A Motorsport Audi, Eurico de Jesus with MACPRO Racing Team, and Joseph Mersei.

Rodolfo Avila

Macau Touring Car Cup

Out of the Macau Touring Car Cup 24-entries this year, some 21 will be representing the lotus flag, including the usual suspects, Rui Valente, Leong Ian Veng, Sabino Ososrio Lei, Jeronimo Badaraco, Delfim Mendonca Choi, Luciano Lameiras, and Celio Alves Dias

Both Above 1950cc, and 11 in the 1600cc Turbo class categories will once again be battling out at the track with seven manufacturers represented, namely, Chevrolet, Ford, Mini, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Peugeot and Subaru.

Greater Bay Area GT Cup

Least but not last, the Greater Bay Area GT Cup attracted 10 Macau drivers, with an all-Macao entry from RPM Racing Team, including drivers Lei Kit Meng, Dicky Cheung, Lui Man Kit, and Mak Ka Lok