Macau opens borders to more non-residents starting on Sept 1

Starting from midnight of September 1 non-residents from more countries or regions outside Macau, Hong Kong, Mainland China and Taiwan to be defined by local authorities will be allowed to enter the Macau SAR “as long as the entry conditions defined by the health authority are met”, a Chief Executive dispatch announced.

The dispatch mentions the exemption will cover non-residents from countries or regions “designated by the health authority” after assessing pandemic risks and “taking into account the real needs for the movement of people” with no specific details on the countries covered announced yet.

Those allowed to enter would also still need to carry out any pandemic prevention measures in place, with a seven days quarantine and three health self-management days still currently required for overseas arrivals.

The dispatch also includes that the new order will also cover residents of Mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan.

Since the beginning of the pandemic, in March 2020, local authorities have prohibited the entry of non-residents, as a measure to control and prevent covid-19, with exceptions gradually announced for entries via Hong Kong or mainland China, or for certain nationalities, including Portuguese nationals or Southeast Asian domestic helpers.