Portugal: Country one of 17 urged by EU to enact new telecoms rules, 5G network roll-out

The European Commission has on Thursday requested Portugal and 17 other European Union (EU) countries to fully transpose the new telecoms rules, including the roll-out of 5G networks, into national law, giving them two months to do so.

“The Commission has decided today to send reasoned opinions to Estonia, Spain, Croatia, Ireland, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia and Sweden for failing to notify the Commission on the full transposition of the European Electronic Communications Code,” indicates the EU executive in a press release.

Member States should have transposed the new telecoms rules into national law by 21 December 2020, but these 18 countries have failed to do so, and today’s warning is already the second from Brussels, following a first in February this year.

The countries concerned now have two months to respond to the European Commission or the institution will refer the case to the Court of Justice of the European Union.

Brussels says that these new rules “modernise the European regulatory framework for electronic communications, strengthening consumer choice and rights and encouraging operators to invest in very high capacity networks and the deployment of fibre and 5G [fifth generation]”.

The European Electronic Communications Code is an EU directive regulating electronic communications networks and services.

It was adopted in December 2018 and recast the existing regulatory framework.