Portugal: Government approves flights between EU, Schengen countries, UK

The Portuguese government has approved air traffic measures, in force from 1 to 16 July, allowing flights to and from Portugal to countries of the “European Union, Schengen Area and the United Kingdom”.

In a statement, the government explained that “these measures take into account (today’s) Recommendation of the Council of the European Union”, whose order also foresees the authorisation of flights from “countries with a positive epidemiological evaluation” and “subject to confirmation of reciprocity”.

“Algeria, Canada, South Korea, Morocco, Tunisia and China” are the other authorised countries, while the remaining exceptions “for essential journeys” contain “flights from Portuguese-speaking countries” and the United States, but from Brazil, only flights to and from São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro will be permitted.

“Nationals of the European Union, nationals of Schengen associated states and members of their families, and third-country nationals legally resident in a Member State of the European Union”, are included in the trips considered essential.

Other cases are the journeys of “third-country nationals travelling for work, study, family reunification, health or humanitarian reasons and in accordance with the principle of reciprocity”.

Passengers on flights from Portuguese-speaking countries and the USA must present, at the time of departure, “proof of a negative Covid-19 test carried out within 72 hours before boarding, failing which they will be denied entry to the national territory”.

The Covid-19 pandemic has claimed almost 507,000 lives and infected more than 10.37 million people in 196 countries and territories, according to a report by the French agency AFP.

In Portugal, 1,576 people have died out of 42,141 confirmed to be infected, according to the most recent bulletin of the Directorate General of Health.