Portugal: New whale watching licenses to be suspended on five islands

No more licenses for whale watching tourism are to be issued as of Friday on the Azores islands of Corvo, Flores, Graciosa, Santa Maria and Terceira, according to a decree which was published today in the Official Journal.

According to the decree from the regional secretaries of Sea, Science and Technology and of Energy, Environment and Tourism, the issuing of new license is to be suspended in “Zone C” – which includes the five islands because of a significant rise in the activity.

The measure is also justified by the need to preclude any future risks that could put the quality of the tourism product at stake, as well as the protection of the marine species.

The decree also repeals another which enabled the transfer of whale watching licenses among companies.