Three new faces among CE-appointed legislators

Chief Executive Ho Iat Seng has appointed three new legislators and kept four lawmakers that had been chosen by his predecessor, according to an announcement made this afternoon (Thursday). Among the new faces are the principal of Pui Ching Middle School Kou Lam Tai, artist and former director of the Macau Museum of Art Chan Hou Seng and Cheung Kin Chung, General Manager of Macau CTS Hotel Management (International) Ltd. and Chairman of the Board of Directors of China Travel and Tourism Agency (Macau), S.A.

Four legislators who had been chosen by Ho’s predecessor, Chun Sai On have been reappointed for another four-year term: Ma Chi Seng, Iau Teng Pio, Pang Chuan and Wu Chou Kit. Chan Wa Kong, Fong Ka Chio (Davis) and Lao Chi Ngai (Joey) will be out of the legislature.

The seven newly appointed legislators will join the 26 lawmakers elected in the September 12 elections (14 via universal suffrage and 12 by associations).

Under the provisions of Annex II of the Basic Law of the Macao SAR, the seventh Legislative Assembly is made up of 33 members, of whom 14 are directly elected, 12 indirectly elected and seven appointed.