Macau | Starting Grid decided for final CTM Macau Touring Car Cup races – Macau Grand Prix

Macau (MNA) – Hong Kong veteran pilot Paul Poon reached the first position at the first qualifying of the CTM Macau Touring Car Cup 1600cc Turbo class, followed by two Macau drivers Filipe de Souza and Jerónimo Badaraco.

Both Macau drivers are driving a Chevrolet Cruze and both are former FIA WTCC drivers who opted to take part in the CTM Macau Touring Car Cup.

Meanwhile, at 1590cc class, Japanese driver Mitsuhiro Kinoshita in a Nissan GTR topped the qualifying followed by Macau David racing Team driver Leong Ian Veng in a Mitsubishi EVO9, with Colombian driver Julio Acosta managing a third place for Team Lotus.

This year’s race will run on a new format with eligible cars being divided into 1600cc Turbo and over 1950cc classes, with each class to receive its own trophies, a change that led to criticisms from drivers.

Although both class qualifying involved 25 drivers each, the main race on Sunday will include 36 drivers.